The Whisper

51Dqp6R3NaL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg (260×327)

Author & Illustrator: Pamela Zagarenski

Genre: Fiction

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company Boston, NY

Awards: (2) Caldecott Honor Award 2015

Themes: Imagination, Curiosity, Stories, Learning, Brave

Summary: A little girl is eager to read a story, but she runs home so fast that the words fly out of the book. Unsure of what to do, a voice whispers to her telling her to create her own. Turning page by page, the story develops and grows into a wondrous tale. She then realizes that she too, can tell a great story!

Response: How did the book make you feel? How does it relate to your own experiences? Did you make any connections to other books you have read?

I, like many others, have never viewed myself as a writer. My brother is a writer and I would compare my work to his. I always felt like he out did me by far. Recently, I have learned that anyone is a writer and each has a story to tell and different ways of telling it. I connected with this story because of how the little girl creates her own stories based off of the images. The story made me feel like I can keep learning and growing if the little girl can too. She took the challenge to write her own story and I want to be as brave as she is.

Leave a Reply

