all the poetry and more poetry

I have to say I have read and written more poetry in the past two weeks than I ever have before. It has been a beautiful process and has allowed me to see the significance in shorter lines. In our writer’s notebook we wrote stories about the small moments in life. I like the transition to writing poems about the small moments or small items in our every day lives.

In Awakening the Heart it says, “How we see ourselves inside determines how and why we write, and what poems we choose to read and cherish.” The small moments I choose to write about mean something to me on a deeper level. The objects I write about, like in All the Small Poems and Fourteen More, carry a heavier weight and are valuable to my upbringing.

I mentioned before in another post that I love reading poetry by people I know. I think this is because I get to know more about who they are, how they think, and what is important to them. In turn, I am looking forward to having my students write poetry because it is an avenue to know my students’ hearts too.

Below are drafts of a couple poems I have written this past week.

Hammock

after Broom from All the Small Poems and Fourteen More pg. 90

 

The hammock, kept

In a drawer, bundled

In a bag –

Squeezed lifeless,

Squished all together

As tight as a ball –

 

But strung

From trunk to trunk,

It is another thing,

Stretched far,

Easily breathing,

Swaying back

And forth wrapped

Around a body:

 

Where it swings,

Together,

Pleasantly,

A long, thin

Bed, having

Nothing at all

To do

With a bag

 

I Wish

I wish

the parking lot

was always

this empty.

I would

always get

a good

spot.

20161014_194047

References

Heard, G. (1999). Awakening the heart. Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann.

Worth, V. (1994). All the small poems and fourteen more. New York, NY: Square Fish.

One thought on “all the poetry and more poetry

  1. Your poems are both really good examples of “Small Moment” poetry, I hope you share them with your students. Your contrast of the hammock (squished in a bag vs. free) is really interesting. My favorite line is where you say, “Easily breathing.” It could just be me, but I love the sound of that, and can see it swinging side to side like the chest heaving when someone is breathing. You made a hammock come to life with your descriptions! I agree that reading and writing is so often taken for granted, and we are shocked and frozen like deer in the headlights when we encounter someone in our community who is unable to read. The thing that stuck out to me was you saying that writing is “a voice” for its user. That is so true. We can use writing to accomplish so much in society for the better-petitions, GED, advertising, etc. In addition, writing and reading can improve oral development, so the voice becomes clearer and more educated when one is able to do these things at a higher level.

    Like

Leave a Reply

