Details I Don’t Think About

I have a pretty black and white personality. There is a right and there is a wrong. There is a good and there is a bad. I am not harsh about my thoughts by any means and am always appreciative of people who are creative and think outside of the box. I need gray thinkers in my life;however, I tend to need or have grounded thoughts. I need a degree of structure and organization. I’m flexible if plans change and can be adaptable as I go with the flow, but as my brothers have learned sometimes they tell me the plan is to not have a plan. I can roll with that.

This is a part of my personality and it comes out in my writing. It is factual and chronological. I use limited descriptive terms and do not change the style of my writing very often. How boring? My writing has been an area I have wanted to improve on and reading Mentor Texts has opened my own eyes in ways to develop it.

This past week I have been thinking about the details I don’t think about. There is a section on the five senses. What you see, touch, smell, feel, and taste. When I write I maybe incorporate two senses, but how beautiful a piece can be when all five are used. It allows the reader to feel like they are there whether they have been to that location or not. I appreciated how the method used a chart. It is a way to organize your thoughts and draft some options on how to list out your experience. That is the kind of structure I need to truly think about the details behind what is happening. For example, instead of saying how beautiful the beach was I went to last week, I could include ways to say the temperature of the water, how salty it was, the shells I saw, etc.

“I wish you a colorful life” writes Lois Ehlert after explaining how art chose her in her book The Scraps Book. It is the artsy side of writing, drawing, and seeing life that I hope to grow in. I want to notice more of the details around me. The ones that make the experience that much more meaningful and then I want to write about it.

References:

Dorfman, L.R., & Cappelli, R. (2007) Mentor Texts. Portland, ME: Stenhouse Publishers.

Ehlert, L. (2014) The scraps book. New York: Beach Lane Books.

Leave a Reply

