How Serendipitous.

Friday: I receive a message about a part-time EC position available at an elementary school and am asked if I am interested in it.

Saturday: An interview is set-up for Monday 11:00 a.m.

Monday: Interviewed and offered a job within the hour.

Tuesday: Approved at 5:48 a.m. I attend a county wide meeting at 8:30 a.m.

*pause

At this point I am feeling many emotions. I am beyond thankful for a job. I am excited because that job is at a school and in a field I love. At the same time I am nervous because it is not exactly what I have done (it’s resource as opposed to adapted) and so it is different. Everything is new and yet so familiar. I am oblivious to a lot going on around me. I have asked a lot of questions and am becoming comfortable. I am learning and taking in mounds of information. I feel unprepared. I feel prepared. I am scared. I am confident. I am trying not to be overwhelmed with the amount of emotions going on inside of me.

The reality of teaching slowly sets in and I have no idea what I would be teaching my students (at this point I maybe teaching writing and reading) and start to worry about what I will do the first day of school. Again, trying not to worry I rest in knowing that I only have today and that I shouldn’t be worried about tomorrow, for each day has enough worries of its own.

*play

Tuesday continued: I have my first graduate class from 4:00-7:00 p.m.

*pause

I relax and thoroughly enjoy class. My friends are in this class with me. We have fun sharing stories and what is this class about? Writing. While we share our stories and interests, my professor eagerly takes notes next to each of our names. She invested in each of us by asking questions, sharing what we have in common, and being genuinely interested in what we had to say no matter the topic. My professor begins to explain how sharing stories is the first step in writing. You not only have words to start putting on paper, but you also start building a relationship with your students. She continues to explain what she does the first day of class. Immediately I jot down notes in my notebook. In my notebook it looks like this.

Lesson Plan – First day of school

-Sit in a group

-Have a notebook and pencil ready

-Share a story the students can relate to (like nature).

-Have them share stories (take notes).

-You write, not them first day

Just when I was getting concerned, my first day of school lesson plans are done for me. And yes, I am teaching reading and writing with half of my students.

How serendipitous.

In Textbook Amy Krouse Rosenthal, the beginning of the chapter starts with a pre-assessment. There are multiple choice questions where there isn’t a wrong answer. The chapter continues to short answer. Again, just a few sentences that everyone can relate too. I love this. This is how my first week of teaching will look. First, it will be getting to know the students on a relational level. That will then extend to assessing informally, where the students are academically. My desire is to have the students feel comfortable and know that I am setting them up for success. I also want them to know it is okay to fail, and that it is a safe place. All I want is for them to try and to do that means I will have to be vulnerable and allow them to see me fail. Not only fail, but learn from it, correct it, and continue on.

I’m thankful. This book has given me my next steps in the classroom already.

How serendipitous.

I will continue to look out for these moments in life and the tune that goes through my mind when I notice them is serendipity-do-da serendipity-ay!

References:

Rosenthal, A. K. (2016). Textbook Amy Krouse Rosenthal. New York, NY: Penguin Random House.

Leave a Reply

